Bob Porto's Blog

Tea Party Activist & Speaker

Pulaski County Quorum Court Update

I attended the July 28 meeting of the Pulaski County Quorum Court meeting, because I wanted to start getting involved in local government. As a citizen and a member of The Pulaski County Tea Party, I wanted to find out what is happening at this level of government. I called my JP, Doug Reed, and asked if there would be any items on the agenda that I should be aware of. He told me about a rate increase on trash pickup in the rural districts.
I am not against covering the costs for a service, but what I learned from Doug is that there is a question that needed to be asked. Why are we suddenly, this year, losing $100,000 a month on trash pickup in the rural districts, when we weren’t losing the money last year? Does anyone care that the only remedy offered to take care of this loss is a rate increase? And a 24% increase at that!
Granted, there hasn’t been a rate increase in a few years. However, when Doug Reed asked for a Profit and Loss Statement, (it is my understanding), the other JP’s who don’t have rural trash pickup, were not interested in having a study done to see why we are losing so much money. It appeared to me that the vote came down on the side of not providing the report.
JP Green did report that he would support the increase. I guess he may know more than the others about profit and loss, just to allow a 24% increase in his district. I am in favor of covering expenses, but it seems to me that a 24% rate increase would create a major surplus in short order, and I don’t know where the extra money would go, after repaying the General Fund. When I was asked if I thought that a yearly rate increase to cover costs would be better than a large increase at one time, I had questions.
Would good government practices be used, would they be up front, and could we review the contracts to see that the deals accepted were the best ones?
I still want to know why we are losing money this year, if we did well last year, even with higher gasoline prices, and there has been no major change other than an increase in Landfill charges of about $1.10.
I would like to see a Profit and Loss Statement, as Doug Reed requested. It should be in a readable format that is understandable. If not a Profit and Loss Statement, then I’d like an audit to give “We the people” a look into the reason for the huge increase in costs. A little transparency goes a long way.
August 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

